"Uta sought - church found"

Guest survey launched: The altar of Mary in Naumburg Cathedral touches visitors 

Since the consecration of the Marian altar in the west choir of Naumburg Cathedral on 3 July 2022, 25,880 people have visited Naumburg Cathedral, which is 10 percent more than the previous year. The United Cathedral Foundations assume that the new altar is a main reason for more people exploring the cathedral. This is also confirmed by the number of visitors on the special tours of the altar, which are offered every Sunday. Moreover, this is confirmed above all by the numerous feedbacks that have reached the foundation since the consecration. For example, Holger Baumann from the Rheinkamp parish on the Lower Rhine wrote by email after his visit in August 2022: 

"I would like to express extraordinary appreciation and thanks for the CranachTriegelAltar at its current location in the cathedral. While the naturally impressive donor figures primarily serve as a tourist attraction for daily tourists as a photo motif, the CranachTriegelAltar has touched us in a Christian-spiritual way and brings back a Christian-church atmosphere into this space, which is often unsettled by photo tourists, and through the moving directness and confrontation of Triegel's figures with the visitor, a reflection on the dignified church space. For this we thank you expressly - also on behalf of other tourists who were only looking for Uta, but found church."

And Dr Susanne Reisser and Prof. Dr Christoph Reisser from Vienna wrote after their visit to the cathedral on 4 July 2022:

"Not only the Uta and all the other figures familiar to us from previous visits but above all the so successful redesign of the Cranach altar impressed us very much in the process. The combination of modern art with Cranach has succeeded impressively in the present form. The Risen Christ as "one of our time" is a very strong sign to "our time"."

Following a suggestion from the guests, there has been a visitor survey in the west choir about the Marian altar since 9 August 2022 in order to record further opinions. Questions in it are for example:

How do you feel about the (re)installation of the Marian altar in the west choir of Naumburg Cathedral? (Multiple answers possible)

I feel ...

  • the altar as an enrichment of the west choir
  • that the altar harmoniously forms a central focal point for the donor figures
  • that the altar detracts too much from the effect of the donor figures

What is your opinion on the installation period and location? (Please tick only one answer!)

I am of the opinion that the Marian altar ...

  • that the Marian altar should remain permanently in the west choir of Naumburg Cathedral.
  • that the altar of Mary be placed in the west choir of the cathedral for a maximum of 3 years.
  • that the altar of Mary will only be displayed in the west choir of the cathedral until 4 December 2022 at the latest.
  • that the altar of Mary should only be placed in the west choir for a limited period of time (weeks) each year.
  • that the altar of Mary should be displayed permanently, but outside the west choir.
  • that the altar of Mary must be removed from the west choir immediately!

So far, nearly 150 visitors have filled out the questionnaire, of which over 70 per cent are in favour of leaving the altar in the west choir, 13 per cent are in favour of displaying the altar elsewhere in the cathedral and only 3 per cent are in favour of removing the altar from the west choir immediately.

"I am encouraged by the many positive responses from the visitors, on the one hand the enthusiasm for the artistic work, and on the other hand - and this is even more important for me - the confrontation that now arises for the visitors with the west choir, with the church as a whole, the new visual relationships that arise for them and the liturgical significance of the space, which now becomes more important for the guests," emphasises the director of the United Cathedral Foundations, Dr Holger Kunde, on the feedback.

The visitor survey will continue until 4 December 2022. There will also be a scientific colloquium in November to discuss the altar.

Scroll-To-Top-Button
EN
Skip to content

„Uta gesucht – Kirche gefunden“

Gästeumfrage gestartet: Der Marienaltar im Naumburger Dom berührt die Besucher 

Seit der Weihe des Marienaltars im Westchor des Naumburger Doms am 3. Juli 2022 besuchten 25.880 Menschen den Naumburger Dom, das sind 10 Prozent mehr im Vergleich zum Vorjahr. Die Vereinigten Domstifter gehen davon aus, dass der neue Altar ein Hauptgrund ist, dass mehr Menschen den Dom erkunden. Das bestätigen auch die Besucherzahlen bei den Sonderführungen zum Altar, die jeden Sonntag angeboten werden. Außerdem bestätigen das vor allem die zahlreichen Rückmeldungen, die die Stiftung seit der Weihe erreicht haben. So schrieb zum Beispiel Holger Baumann von der Kirchgemeinde Rheinkamp am Niederrhein per Mail nach seinem Besuch im August 2022: 

„Ich möchte Ihnen außerordentliche Anerkennung und Dank für den CranachTriegelAltar am aktuellen Standort im Dom aussprechen. Während die selbstverständlich beeindruckenden Stifterfiguren primär als touristische Sehenswürdigkeit täglich Touristen als Fotomotiv dienen, hat uns der CranachTriegelAltar christlich-spirituell berührt und bringt in diesen durch Fototouristen oft unruhigen Raum christlich-kirchliche Atmosphäre und durch die bewegende Direktheit und Konfrontation der Figuren Triegels mit dem Besucher eine Besinnung auf den würdigen Kirchenraum zurück. Dafür danken wir Ihnen ausdrücklich – auch im Namen anderer Touristen die nur Uta suchten, aber Kirche gefunden haben.“

Und Dr. Susanne Reisser und Prof. Dr. Christoph Reisser aus Wien schrieben nach ihrem Besuch im Dom am 4. Juli 2022:

„Nicht nur die uns von früheren Besuchen bekannte Uta und alle anderen Figuren sondern vor allem die so gelungene Neugestaltung des Cranach-Altars hat uns dabei sehr beeindruckt. Die Verbindung von moderner Kunst mit Cranach ist in der vorliegenden Form eindrucksvoll gelungen. Der Auferstandene als „einer aus unserer Zeit“ ist ein sehr starkes Zeichen an „unsere Zeit“.“

Nach Anregung der Gäste, gibt es seit dem 9. August 2022 eine Besucherbefragung im Westchor zum Marienaltar, um weitere Meinungen aufzunehmen. Fragen darin sind zum Beispiel:

Wie empfinden Sie die (Wieder-)Aufstellung des Marienaltars im Westchor des Naumbur­ger Doms? (Mehrfachnennung möglich)

Ich empfinde …

  • den Altar als Bereicherung des Westchors
  • dass der Altar für die Stifterfiguren harmonisch einen zentralen Mittelpunkt bildet
  • dass der Altar die Wirkung der Stifterfiguren zu stark beeinträchtigt

Welche Meinung vertreten Sie zum Aufstellungszeitraum und zum Aufstellungsort? (Bitte nur eine Antwort ankreuzen!)

Ich bin der Meinung, dass der Marienaltar …

  • dass der Marienaltar dauerhaft im Westchor des Naumburger Doms aufgestellt bleiben soll.
  • dass der Marienaltar bis maximal 3 Jahre im Westchor des Doms aufgestellt werden soll.
  • dass der Marienaltar nur bis maximal zum 4. Dezember 2022 im Westchor des Doms gezeigt werden soll.
  • dass der Marienaltar jährlich nur für einen begerenzten Zeitraum (Wochen) im Westchor aufgestellt werden soll.
  • dass der Marienaltar dauerhaft, aber außerhalb des Westchores, gezeigt werden soll.
  • dass der Marienaltar sofort aus dem Westchor entfernt werden muss!

Bisher haben knapp 150 Besucher den Fragebogen ausgefüllt, davon sind über 70 Prozent dafür, den Altar im Westchor zu belassen, 13 Prozent sind dafür, den Altar an einer anderen Stelle im Dom zu zeigen und nur 3 Prozent sind für eine sofortige Entfernung des Altars aus dem Westchor.

„Mich bestärken diese vielen positiven Resonanzen der Besucher, einerseits die Begeisterung für das künstlerische Werk und andererseits und das wiegt für mich noch viel mehr, die Auseinandersetzung, die jetzt beim Besucher entsteht, mit dem Westchor, mit der Kirche insgesamt, die neuen Sichtbeziehungen, die für sie entstehen und die liturgische Bedeutung des Raumes, der für die Gäste jetzt bedeutender wird“, betont der Stiftsdirektor der Vereinigten Domstifter, Dr. Holger Kunde zu den Rückmeldungen.

Die Besucherbefragung wird bis zum 4. Dezember 2022 weitergeführt. Im November wird es außerdem ein wissenschaftliches Kolloquium geben, in dessen Rahmen über den Altar diskutiert werden wird.

Scroll-To-Top-Button
DE
Zum Inhalt springen